My Character was Shaped, My Life was Changed… But was My Purpose Found?

The last 9 months of my life have proved to be the most challenging I have faced yet… Freshman year. I know that I wasn’t completely new to the college game, but can you ever really be used to pushing your brain to the limit on a daily basis? Actually, I sure hope so because if not, the next 7 years of my life will be the end of me. Emmaus has a slogan repeated so many times you think your ears might bleed if you hear it again… But then you stop. You think about it. Emmaus is a place where character is shaped, lives are changed, and purpose is found. On an average day you hear it then move on. Today, I stopped and thought. How was I shaped? How did my life change? Did I find my purpose? As an inside observer I would say that I am the same person that graduated from high school a year ago and left for an entire summer on an island outside of Seattle, Washington. I hope that’s not true. I spent hours reading, learning, writing, planning, and praying… to what end? In a perfect world I would be able to tell you that I understand the Bible to the fullest, I can teach a class of 35 kids with ease, I can treat a clinically depressed person with little more than a prayer. It’s not true. I learned that learning, in it’s purest form, is difficult. Gone are the days of straight A’s with little to no work. I learned that I have to rely on strength that no human can possible posses. I learned that college students that need less than 8 hours of sleep a night have been given a gift that I will never have. College is a challenge. I am proof that high school gives a false idea of college life… sadly. My life changed. How? That I can’t tell you. I don’t know when it happened. I don’t know what happened, but it happened. I am not the 18 year old who romanticized life in the dorms. (FYI- one year of that was enough for me.) I no longer expect my best effort to be good enough. There are real expectations in life. Dead lines aren’t open to interpretation… why I ever thought that, I don’t know. I am different. I am older. Purpose found… that’s an easy one. I know what I was made for. I was made to glorify Christ. I was made to spread the love of Christ. Exactly how I will do that… well, I have 3 more years to figure that out.

So, I guess what I’m saying is this: Emmaus isn’t a joke, like so many people think. Character is shaped, lives are changed, and purpose is found.

One thought on “My Character was Shaped, My Life was Changed… But was My Purpose Found?

Leave a comment